Skip to main content

An interview with Petra Schwerdtfeger

Sharks have no lobby, although they are indispensable for the ecosystem. Since 2002, SHARKPROJECT has been campaigning for the protection of this important species. We are happy to have the opportunity to support their efforts!
An interview with Petra Schwerdtfeger © SHARKPROJECT

Dear Petra, please introduce SHARKPROJECT to our readers.

SHARKPROJECT works nationally and internationally to protect sharks and marine ecosystems. We work on a voluntary basis and are recognised as a non-profit organisation. The work of our organisation has 3 interlocking focal points: Conservation, Education and Cooperation. This is also the basis of our school project, our public relations work in the media and at events and fairs, as well as our campaigns, research projects, species conservation policy activities and coalitions within the framework of partner campaigns.

We work as a team, so any support - both small, medium and large time budgets, matching the individual's current life situation or financially - is greatly appreciated!

How did the idea of your project come about, how did it develop?

Unfortunately, sharks are still often portrayed by the media as man-eating monsters. An artificial word describes this best: fearscination.

In reality, they are much less interested in us than people are in them. Every year, 10-20 people lose their lives in shark accidents - and at least 73 million sharks are killed by human fishing. Yet many shark species are threatened with extinction - and existential for the balance of the global ecosystem.

Many people are not aware of this, which is why the necessity of shark protection is not known to the general public and is not supported accordingly.

This has to be changed - since 2002. And unfortunately it is still a long way to go, as business and politics are much more interested in momentary profit than in sustainability and ensuring a healthy ecosystem for future generations.

What drives you every day, what are you passionate about?

The knowledge of the need for healthy oceans. In the last hour (!!) at least 8,330 sharks have fallen victim to industrial fishing. We are committed to the survival of this species that is so important to us all and so misunderstood by many.

If you had to name in 3 to 4 key words, in which areas you change the world for the better, what would these three words be?

  • Protection of species
  • Environmental protection
  • Sustainability

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers?

We are happy about any support - through active participation and also financially. Feel free to contact us!


Thank you for these exciting insights. We are happy that we can support you together with the staff! If you want to know more, you can find detailed information here on the website of SHARKPROJECT.

Zurück zur Hauptseite

Ein Interview mit Petra Schwerdtfeger

Haie haben keine Lobby, obwohl sie für das Ökosystem unverzichtbar sind. Seit 2002 setzt sich SHARKPROJECT für den Schutz dieser wichtigen Spezies ein. Wir freuen uns, sie dabei unterstützen zu dürfen!
Petra Schwerdtfeger im Interview mit WeShape © SHARKPROJECT

Liebe Petra, stelle unseren Leser:innen SHARKPROJECT doch einmal vor.

SHARKPROJECT setzt sich national, wie auch international, für den Schutz der Haie und marinen Ökosysteme ein. Wir arbeiten ehrenamtlich und sind als gemeinnützig anerkannt. Die Arbeit unserer Organisation hat 3 ineinander greifende Schwerpunkte: Schutz, Bildung und Kooperation. Darauf basieren auch unser Schulprojekt, unsere Öffentlichkeitsarbeit in den Medien und auf Veranstaltungen und Messen sowie unsere Kampagnen, Forschungsprojekte, artenschutzpolitische Tätigkeiten und Koalitionen im Rahmen von Partnerkampagnen.

Wir arbeiten im Team, daher ist die jede Unterstützung – sowohl mit kleinem, mittleren und großen Zeitbudget, passend zur aktuellen Lebenssituation des Einzelnen oder auch finanziell – sehr willkommen!

Wie kam es denn zu der Idee eures Projekts, wie ist es entstanden?

Haie werden von den Medien immer noch oft leider als menschenfressende Monster dargestellt. Ein Kunstwort beschreibt dieses am besten: Angstzination.

In der Realität sind sie viel weniger an uns, als die Menschen an ihnen interessiert. Jährlich kommen 10-20 Menschen durch Haiunfälle ums Leben – und mindestens 73 Millionen Haie durch die Fischerei der Menschen. Dabei sind viele Haiarten vom Aussterben bedroht – und existenziell für das Gleichgewicht des globalen Ökosystems.

Dies ist vielen Menschen nicht bewusst, weswegen die Notwendigkeit des Haischutzes auch nicht in der breiten Öffentlichkeit bekannt ist und entsprechend nicht unterstützt wird.

Dies gilt es zu ändern – seit 2002. Und es ist leider immer noch ein langer Weg, da Wirtschaft und Politik deutlich stärker am momentanen Profit als an der Nachhaltigkeit und dem Sicherstellen eines gesunden Ökosystems für die kommenden Generationen interessiert ist.

Was treibt euch denn täglich an, wofür brennt ihr

Das Wissen um die Notwendigkeit gesunder Ozeane. In der letzten Stunde (!!) sind mindestens 8.330 Haie dem industriellen Fischfang zu Opfer gefallen. Wir setzen uns für das Überleben dieser für uns alle so wichtigen und von vielen so missverstandenen Spezies ein.

Wenn du in 3 Stichworten nennen müsstest, in welchen Bereichen ihr die Welt zum Besseren verändert, was wären diese drei Worte?

  • Artenschutz
  • Umweltschutz
  • Nachhaltigkeit

Möchtest du unseren Leser:innen noch etwas mitgeben?

Wir freuen uns über jede Unterstützung – durch aktives Mitmachen und auch finanziell. Traut Euch, uns anzusprechen!


Vielen Dank für diese spannenden Einblicke. Wir freuen uns, dass wir euch gemeinsam mit den Mitarbeiter:innen unterstützen können! Wer noch mehr wissen möchte findet detaillierte Informationen hier auf der Website von SHARKPROJECT.