Skip to main content

Emily & Jan im Interview

Our WeShape team is very happy about the cooperation with ROCK YOUR LIFE! Berlin e.V. , an initiative that promotes educational justice and equal opportunities . In an interview with WeShape, the chairpersons Emily Frank and Jan Jacobs introduce the organization to you.

Dear Emily, dear Jan, please introduce your organization to our readers in a few sentences.

ROCK YOUR LIFE! Berlin e.V. is an association that promotes educational justice and equal opportunities. We place university & college students as mentors with pupils who often come from less privileged backgrounds.

Whether as homework support, application coach or simply as an open ear - the support is highly diverse and absolutely individualized to the needs of the mentee. We as an organization guide the mentors and help the mentees to have fun finding their strengths, developing their potential and making a good start to their careers!

How did the idea of your project come about, how did it develop?

ROCK YOUR LIFE ! Berlin is part of a Germany-wide network of volunteer university & college students in over 50 associations, motivated pupils, responsible companies and ROCK YOUR LIFE! Germany as the umbrella organization.

ROCK YOUR LIFE! was founded by university students in 2008. The idea: a 1:1 mentoring program between secondary school students and university students, combined with nationwide cooperation with vocational training providers. From the very beginning, the ROCK YOUR LIFE! team knew that if we were going to do something, we had to do it right, i.e. with high quality standards and a constant flow of improvements, and secondly, we had to do it on a large scale, i.e. throughout Germany and then internationally.

So that's how it all started, initially in the spring of 2009 in Friedrichshafen. But within a year and with more and more awards, very soon in numerous other cities throughout Germany. Meanwhile we are also active in the Netherlands and Spain.

Since June 2010, we've been rocking Berlin and championing equal opportunities with one-to-one mentoring relationships.

What drives you every day, what are you passionate about?

Our focus is on the mentee. We have recognized that for many students, individual support is the key to educational success. We want to make this support available for Berlin's students. Our motivation is supported by a dedicated and highly committed team, which makes the mentoring relationship possible with a lot of team spirit and commitment. We are passionate about equal opportunities from Berlin for Berlin!

 

If you had to name in 3 key words, in which areas you change the world for the better, what would these three words be?

  • equal opportunities
  • educational justice
  • development of potential

Thank you for these exciting insights. We are happy that we can support you together with the staff! If you want to know more, you can find detailed information here on the website of ROCK YOUR LIFE ! Berlin..

Zurück zur Hauptseite

Emily & Jan im Interview

Unser Team von WeShape freut sich sehr über die Kooperation mit ROCK YOUR LIFE! Berlin e.V. , einem Verein, der sich für Bildungsgerechtigkeit und Chancengleichheit einsetzt. Im Interview mit WeShape stellen die Vorsitzenden Emily Frank und Jan Jacobs den Verein für euch vor.

Liebe Emily, lieber Jan, stellt unseren Lesern eure Organisation doch in ein paar wenigen Sätzen vor.

ROCK YOUR LIFE! Berlin e.V. ist ein Verein, der sich für Bildungsgerechtigkeit und Chancengleichheit einsetzt. Wir vermitteln Studierende als Mentoren an Schüler*Innen, die häufig aus einem weniger privilegierten Umfeld kommen.

Ob als Hausaufgaben-Unterstützung, Bewerbungscoach oder einfach als offenes Ohr – die Unterstützung ist denkbar vielseitig und absolut individuell auf die Bedürfnisse des Mentees zugeschnitten. Wir als Verein leiten die Mentoren an und helfen den Mentees mit viel Spaß ihre Stärken zu finden, ihr Potenzial zu entfalten und einen guten Berufseinstieg zu schaffen!

Wie kam es denn zu der Idee eures Projekts, wie ist es entstanden?

ROCK YOUR LIFE ! Berlin gehört zu einem deutschlandweiten Netzwerk aus ehrenamtlich engagierten Studierenden in über 50 Vereinen, motivierten Schüler*innen, verantwortungsvollen Unternehmen und ROCK YOUR LIFE! Deutschland als Dachorganisation.

2008 wurde ROCK YOUR LIFE! von Studierenden gegründet. Die Idee: Ein 1:1-Mentoring-Programm zwischen Hauptschüler*innen und Studierenden, kombiniert mit einer flächendeckenden Kooperation mit Ausbildungsgebern. Von Anfang an war dem ROCK YOUR LIFE! Team eines klar – Wenn wir etwas machen, dann erstens richtig, also mit hohen Qualitätsstandards und in einem steten Fluss der Verbesserung, und zweitens groß, also deutschlandweit und dann international.

So ging es also los, zunächst im Frühjahr 2009 in Friedrichshafen. Doch innerhalb eines Jahres und mit sich laufend mehrenden Auszeichnungen sehr bald bereits in zahlreichen weiteren Städten in ganz Deutschland. Mittlerweile sind wir auch in den Niederlanden und Spanien aktiv.

Seit Juni 2010 rocken wir in Berlin und setzen uns für Chancengleichheit mit Eins-zu-Eins-Mentoringbeziehungen ein.

Was treibt euch denn täglich an, wofür brennt ihr?

Bei uns steht der Mentee im Fokus. Wir haben erkannt, dass für viele Schüler*innen individuelle Förderung der Schlüssel für Bildungserfolg ist. Diese Förderung wollen wir den Berliner Schüler*innen ermöglichen. Unsere Motivation wird getragen durch ein starkes und hochengagiertes Orga-Team, welches mit viel Teamgeist und Einsatz die Mentoringbeziehung überhaupt erst ermöglicht. Wir brennen für Chancengerechtigkeit aus Berlin für Berlin!

 

Wenn ihr in 3 Stichworten nennen müsstet, in welchen Bereichen ihr die Welt zum Besseren verändert, was wären diese drei Worte?

  • Chancengleichheit
  • Bildungsgerechtigkeit
  • Potentialentfaltung

Vielen Dank für diese spannenden Einblicke. Wir freuen uns, dass wir euch gemeinsam mit den Mitarbeiter:innen unterstützen können! Wer noch mehr wissen möchte, der findet detaillierte Informationen hier auf der Website von ROCK YOUR LIFE ! Berlin.