Skip to main content

An interview with Daniela and Steffen

The organization LiScha Himalaya e.V. supports one of the poorest ethnic groups in Nepal, the Chepang, in the fields of education, health & medicine and income generation. They especially aim to empower girls and women to lead a more self-determined life . We are very happy about this cooperation!

Today the founders Daniela and Steffen introduce the organization to you.

Dear Daniela, dear Steffen, please introduce your organization to our readers in a few sentences.

We support one of the poorest ethnic groups in Nepal, the Chepang. With our projects, our hearts, ideas and actions we make a difference.

How did the idea of your project come about, how did it develop?

In 2009 we fulfilled a long dream. For one year we traveled the Himalaya region in Northern India and Nepal. We got the chance to live and work with the families for a longer period of time.

This gave us deeper insights into the life of the people. We got to know the Chepang ethnic group, one of the indigenous peoples of Nepal, and saw how as nomads they suffered from forced settlement. Poverty, illiteracy, voicelessness - their everyday life.

We didn't want to and couldn't look away, so we stayed! And at the beginning of 2011 we founded our own association - LiScha Himalaya e.V.

What drives you every day, what are you passionate about?

We have been living and working in Nepal for 10 years now. It is a fulfilled life with all facets, with a lot of light but also shadow, far away from any travel romanticism, the clear view on what it means for people to stand at the sidelines of society and to have no voice. Standing up for what is important to us and together building a bridge of more compassion, solidarity and tolerance has become our life's work. It is our contribution to light up the world.

If you had to name in 3 key words, in which areas you change the world for the better, what would these three words be?

  • Empowerment
  • Perspective
  • Self-help

Thank you for these exciting insights. We are happy that we can support you together with the staff! If you want to know more, you can find detailed information here on the website of LiScha Himalaya.

Ein Interview mit Daniela und Steffen

Der Verein LiScha Himalaya e.V. unterstützt eine der ärmsten Volksgruppen Nepals, die Chepang, in den Bereichen Bildung, Gesundheit & Medizin und Einkommenssicherung. Insbesondere den Mädchen und Frauen wollen sie ein selbstbestimmteres Leben ermöglichen. Wir freuen uns sehr über die Kooperation!

Heute stellen die Gründer Daniela und Steffen den Verein für euch vor.

Liebe Daniela, lieber Steffen, stellt unseren Lesern eure Organisation doch in ein paar wenigen Sätzen vor.

Wir unterstützen eine der ärmsten Volksgruppen Nepals, die Chepang. Mit unseren Projekten, unseren Herzen, Ideen und Handlungen machen wir einen Unterschied.

Wie kam es denn zu der Idee eures Projekts, wie ist es entstanden?

2009 erfüllten wir uns einen langen Traum. Für ein Jahr bereisten wir die Himalaya- Region in Nordindien und Nepal. Wir bekamen die Chance für längere Zeit mit und in den Familien zu leben und zu arbeiten.

Das ermöglichte uns tiefe Einblicke in das Leben der Menschen. Wir lernten die Volksgruppe der Chepang kennen, eine der Ureinwohner Nepals, und sahen, wie sie als Nomaden unter der Zwangsansiedlung litten. Armut, Analphabetismus, Stimmlosigkeit – ihr Lebensalltag.

Wegschauen wollten und konnten wir nicht, also blieben wir! Und Anfang 2011 gründeten wir unseren eigenen Verein – LiScha Himalaya e.V.

Was treibt euch denn täglich an, wofür brennt ihr?

Seit nunmehr 10 Jahren leben und arbeiten wir in Nepal. Es ist ein erfülltes Leben mit allen Facetten, mit viel Licht aber auch Schatten, fernab jeder Reiseromantik, den klaren Blick darauf gerichtet, was es für Menschen heißt, am Rand der Gesellschaft zu stehen und keine Stimme zu haben. Für das einzustehen, was uns wichtig ist und gemeinsam eine Brücke aus mehr Mitgefühl, Miteinander und Toleranz zu bauen, das ist unsere Lebensaufgabe geworden. Es ist unser Beitrag, die Welt lichtvoller zu gestalten.

Wenn ihr in 3 Stichworten nennen müsstet, in welchen Bereichen ihr die Welt zum Besseren verändert, was wären diese drei Worte?

  • Selbstbestimmung
  • Perspektiven
  • Selbsthilfe

Vielen Dank für diese spannenden Einblicke. Wir freuen uns, dass wir euch gemeinsam mit den Mitarbeiter:innen unterstützen können! Wer noch mehr wissen möchte, der findet detaillierte Informationen hier auf der Website von LiScha Himalaya.

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar