Skip to main content

An interview with Jess Faulkner

Jess Faulkner, Skateistan, in an interview with WeShape.world

We are very happy about the cooperation with Skateistan, an award-winning international non-profit organization empowering children through skateboarding and education in Afghanistan, Cambodia and South Africa. In an interview with Jess she gives insights into the organization.

Dear Jess please introduce your organization to our readers in a few sentences.

Skateistan is an international award-winning NGO which empowers children through skateboarding and creative education. We provide safe spaces where children can learn and play and we help to create leaders for a better world.

How did the idea of your project come about, how did it develop?

Our Founder, Oliver, went to Kabul in 2007. He's a lifelong skateboarder and he was skating the streets of the city. He noticed children, particularly those who were working on the streets, were fascinated by his skateboard so he started running informal skate sessions in a disused fountain in Kabul.

Because skateboarding was new, it was a great way of connecting children from different backgrounds and ethnicities. And importantly, there were no rules preventing girls from joining in.

Over time, this evolved into Skateistan, and we built our first indoor Skate School in Kabul in 2009. Now we have Skate Schools in Kabul, Mazar-e-Sharif, Bamyan (under construction), Phnom Penh and Johannesburg.

What drives you every day, what are you passionate about?

We are passionate about children having the chance to determine their own futures.We want to see our students reach their potential, and learn important skills that can help them to do that. Creativity is really key to this vision; when children are educated and they can think creatively, they become problem solvers and innovators, putting them in a great position to improve their own communities.

If you had to name in 3 to 4 key words, in which areas you change the world for the better, what would these three words be?

  • Equality
  • Empowerment
  • Fun

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers?

If you want to be a part of what we do, you can join the Citizens of Skateistan, our global community of skaters, students and supporters. Find out more at www.skateistan.org/citizens

Thank you for these exciting insights. We are happy that we can support you together with the staff! If you want to know more, you can find detailed information here on the website of Skateistan.

Interview mit Jess Faulkner

Jess Faulkner, Skateistan, im Interview mit WeShape.world

Wir freuen uns sehr über die Zusammenarbeit mit Skateistan, einem humanitären, internationalen Projekt für Kinder- und Jugendhilfe in Afghanistan, Kambodscha und Südafrika. Im Gespräch mit Jess stellt sie uns Skateistan genauer vor.

Liebe Jess, stelle unseren Lesern eure Organisation doch in ein paar wenigen Sätzen vor.

Skateistan ist eine internationale, preisgekrönte NGO, die Kinder durch Skateboarding und kreative Bildung stärkt. Wir bieten den Kindern geschützte Orte, um zu lernen und zu spielen und helfen so dabei, Vorreiter für eine bessere Welt zu formen.

Wie kam es denn zu der Idee eures Projekts, wie ist es entstanden?

Unser Gründer Oliver ging 2007 nach Kabul. Er war schon sein Leben lang Skateboarder und er skatete in den Straßen der Stadt. Dabei bemerkte er, dass Kinder, vor allem die, die auf der Straße arbeiteten, von seinem Skateboard fasziniert waren. Also begann er, informelle Skate-Sessions in einem stillgelegten Brunnen in Kabul zu organisieren.

Da Skateboardfahren etwas Neues war, war es eine großartige Möglichkeit, Kinder mit unterschiedlichem Hintergrund und unterschiedlicher ethnischer Herkunft zusammenzubringen. Und das Wichtigste: Es gab keine Regeln, die Mädchen daran hinderten, mitzumachen.

Mit der Zeit entwickelte sich daraus Skateistan, und wir bauten 2009 unsere erste Indoor-Skate-Schule in Kabul. Jetzt haben wir Skate-Schulen in Kabul, Mazar-e-Sharif, Bamyan (im Bau), Phnom Penh und Johannesburg.

Was treibt euch denn täglich an, wofür brennt ihr?

Wir setzen uns mit Leidenschaft dafür ein, dass Kinder die Chance bekommen, ihre Zukunft selbst zu bestimmen. Wir möchten, dass unsere Schüler ihr Potenzial voll ausschöpfen und dass sie wichtige Fähigkeiten entwickeln, die ihnen das ermöglichen. Kreativität ist dabei der Schlüssel zu dieser Vision; wenn Kinder gebildet sind und kreativ denken können, werden sie zu Problemlösern und Vordenkern, was sie in eine großartige Position bringt, um die Gesellschaft in ihrem jeweiligen Umfeld zu verbessern.

Wenn du in 3 Stichworten nennen müsstest, in welchen Bereichen ihr die Welt zum Besseren verändert, was wären diese drei Worte?

  • Gleichberechtigung
  • Empowerment
  • Spaß

Möchtest du unseren Leser:innen noch etwas mitgeben?

Wenn du ein Teil unserer Arbeit sein willst, kannst du dich den Citizens of Skateistan anschließen, unserer globalen Gemeinschaft von Skatern, Studenten und Unterstützern. Mehr dazu findest du unter www.skateistan.org/citizens

Vielen Dank für diese spannenden Einblicke. Wir freuen uns, dass wir euch gemeinsam mit den Mitarbeiter:innen unterstützen können! Wer noch mehr wissen möchte, der findet detaillierte Informationen hier auf der Website von Skateistan.

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar