Skip to main content

How WeShape supports the Sustainable Development Goals.

The United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) can be seen as a framework for action to minimize global injustice and build a better future. With the use of our CSR engagement platform WeShape, companies can broaden their contribution to the achievement of these goals.

What are SDGs?

17 overarching goals form the core of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development by the United Nations, which came into force in 2016. These Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) encompass social, environmental and economic aspects and are intended to enable a humane life globally. The goals are addressed to governments worldwide as well as to the economy, science and individuals.

SDGs - Sustainable Development Goals © United Nations

What can a company do to achieve the SDGs?

Particularly in the globalized world, companies have a responsibility to commit to a more sustainable and just future. The 17 goals are very diverse and give companies a lot of room for action and opportunities to make their contribution. Many companies are certainly already acting in line with the SDGs in some areas without knowing it. Companies can find a guide to action for realigning their strategy in the "SDG Compass". This also shows how they can implement and measure their contribution.

What can individuals do to achieve the SDGs?

Individuals are also called upon to become active in order to achieve the SDGs. The fields of action are large, from more sustainability in everyday life, donations or volunteering to disseminating information on the SDGs. Germanwatch and CAN Tanzania have summarized this concisely in 17 factsheets with concrete ideas for action at the end of each sheet. You can find the link at the end of the article.

Which SDGs can be supported with WeShape?

With WeShape, corporate donations are distributed to employees, who can then donate to a selection of our partner organizations (Here's how). This allows companies to address a wide variety of SDG areas by pre-selecting donation recipients. The organizations working with WeShape are very diverse and support a fairer and more sustainable world in various fields. We will be happy to provide you with an overview of all organizations and their respective SDG areas.

The opportunities that WeShape offers go even beyond the actual donation. By democratizing CSR activities, companies promote participation, equality and the well-being of their employees. In addition, we envision that the integrated newsfeed and regular updates on the work of non-profit organizations will significantly increase awareness of the important issues that NPOs face in their daily work.

What opportunities do the SDGs offer to companies?

It is in the interests of manufacturing companies in particular to conserve resources, as these are the basis of their existence in many sectors. At the same time, it is worthwhile in terms of customer loyalty to assume responsibility and give something back to society: More and more consumers are basing their purchasing decisions on how responsibly a brand operates. In addition, consistent implementation of the CSR strategy also has a positive effect on employer branding. And this is important, because for employees, the social and ecological responsibility of their employer is becoming an increasingly important aspect in their choice of job.

In short, companies that align their strategies with the Sustainable Development Goals and redesign their production or services will make gains at all levels. And promote sustainability and social justice in the process.

Wie WeShape die Sustainable Development Goals unterstützt

Die Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) der Vereinten Nationen können als eine Art Handlungsrahmen gelten, um weltweit Ungerechtigkeit zu minimieren und eine bessere Zukunft zu gestalten. Mit der Nutzung unserer CSR Engagement Plattform WeShape können Unternehmen ihren Beitrag zur Erreichung der Ziele ausbauen.

Was sind SDGs?

17 übergeordnete Ziele bilden den Kern der Agenda 2030 der Vereinten Nationen, die 2016 in Kraft getreten ist. Diese Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) umfassen soziale, ökologische und ökonomische Aspekte und sollen global ein menschenwürdiges Leben ermöglichen. Die Ziele richten sich an Regierungen weltweit ebenso wie an Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Einzelpersonen.

SDGs - Sustainable Development Goals © United Nations

Was kann ein Unternehmen tun, um die SDGs zu erreichen?

Besonders in der globalisierten Welt stehen Unternehmen in der Verantwortung, sich für eine nachhaltigere und gerechtere Zukunft einzusetzen. Die 17 Ziele sind sehr divers und geben Unternehmen viel Spielraum und auch Handlungsansätze, um ihren Beitrag zu leisten. Viele Unternehmen handeln sicherlich schon in einigen Bereichen angelehnt an die SDGs, ohne es zu wissen. Einen Handlungsleitfaden für die Neuausrichtung der Strategie finden Unternehmen im “SDG Compass”. Dieser zeigt auch, wie sie ihren Beitrag umsetzen und messen können.

Was kann jeder Einzelne tun, um die SDGs zu erreichen?

Auch Einzelpersonen sind aufgefordert aktiv zu werden, um die SDGs zu erreichen. Die Handlungsfelder sind groß, von mehr Nachhaltigkeit im Alltag, Spenden oder Ehrenamt bis hin zu der Verbreitung der Informationen zu den SDGs. Übersichtlich zusammengefasst haben das Germanwatch und CAN Tanzania in 17 Factsheets mit konkreten Handlungsideen am Ende jedes Sheets. Den Link findest du am Ende des Artikels.

Welche SDGs können mit WeShape unterstützt werden?

Mit WeShape werden Unternehmensspenden an die Mitarbeiter:innen verteilt, die diese dann an verschiedene unserer Partner-Organisationen spenden können (So geht’s). Somit können Unternehmen durch die Vorauswahl der Spendenempfänger:innen verschiedenste SDG-Bereiche angehen. Die Organisationen, die mit WeShape arbeiten sind sehr vielseitig und unterstützen eine gerechtere und nachhaltigere Welt in den verschiedensten Feldern. Einen Überblick über alle Organisationen und deren SDG-Bereiche schicken wir dir gerne zu.

Die Möglichkeiten, die WeShape bietet, gehen noch über die eigentliche Spende hinaus. Durch die Demokratisierung der CSR-Aktivitäten fördern Unternehmen Mitbestimmung, Gleichstellung und das Wohlbefinden ihrer Mitarbeiter:innen. Zudem erhoffen wir uns durch den integrierten Newsfeed und die durch die Non-Profit-Organisationen regelmäßig eingespielten Updates zu ihrer Arbeit eine deutliche Steigerung der Aufmerksamkeit für die wichtigen Themen, mit denen die NPOs in ihrer täglichen Arbeit konfrontiert sind.

Welche Chancen bieten die SDGs den Unternehmen?

Es liegt wohl im ureigenen Interesse gerade von produzierenden Unternehmen, Ressourcen zu schonen, stellen diese in vielen Branchen auch die Existenzgrundlage dar. Gleichzeitig lohnt es sich hinsichtlich Kundenbindung, Verantwortung zu übernehmen und etwas an die Gesellschaft zurückzugeben: Immer mehr Konsument:innen richten ihre Kaufentscheidung daran aus, wie verantwortungsvoll eine Marke agiert. Zudem wirkt sich eine konsequente Umsetzung der CSR-Strategie auch positiv auf das Personalmarketing aus. Wichtig, denn für Mitarbeiter:innen ist soziale und ökologische Verantwortung des Arbeitgebers ein immer wichtigerer Aspekt für die Wahl des Arbeitsplatzes.

Kurzum: Unternehmen, die ihre Strategien an den Sustainable Development Goals orientieren, ihre Produktion oder Dienstleistungen umgestalten, die werden auf allen Ebenen dazugewinnen. Und dabei Nachhaltigkeit und soziale Gerechtigkeit fördern.

WeShape kennenlernen? Hier Termin zur Demo vereinbaren.

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar