Skip to main content

Corporate Social Responsibility and Corporate Citizenship

WeShape.world is a CSR engagement platformthat enables companies to optimize their corporate donations But what is actually behind the term CSR and how does it differ from corporate citizenship?

What is CSR?

CSR stands for Corporate Social Responsibility, the social responsibility of companies. This involves companies voluntarily taking responsibility for their environment. This includes social and economic aspects as well as environmental concerns (see also CSR-in-Deutschland.de). In order to differentiate CSR from the term Corporate Citizenship, it is important to understand that CSR activities involve measures relating to actual business activities.

In concrete terms, this means that a company should, for example, deal justly with its employees and take social aspects into account in its personnel management. Likewise, successful and far-sighted business operations should be carried out and value should be placed on treating business partners fairly. The ecological pillar relates to the responsible use of resources and the implementation of more sustainable production and business practices.

In recent years, Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) have become established as guidelines for CSR activities. These are global sustainability goals of the United Nations to which a company can align its CSR activities.

What is Corporate Citizenship?

Corporate Citizenship (CC) describes the social commitment of companies that goes beyond their own field of business. In other words, these are measures that do not necessarily have anything to do with a company's own business activities. Literally, corporate citizenship can also be described as the actions of a company, as a "good citizen".

Examples of Corporate Citizenship are corporate giving (corporate donations), sponsoring and corporate volunteering (volunteering during working hours).

CSR vs. Corporate Citizenship

There is still no real agreement on the sharp distinction between CSR and Corporate Citizenship (CC). Often, the latter is seen as part of a CSR strategy, while other definitions draw a clear distinction between CSR and CC, where CSR optimizes a company's own business activities and CC describes the voluntary - often financial - engagement of companies that extends beyond the business field. Still others see the term "corporate responsibility" as an overall term that covers the areas of CSR, Corporate Citizenship and corporate governance (see more here in German).

WeShape and the CSR concept

If we look at the definitions explained above, the WeShape platform builds the bridge between CSR and Corporate Citizenship. The CSR engagement platform promotes the engagement of employees, creates more purpose in the job as well as a basis for transparent corporate communication and optimizes internal processes, for example in the area of donation management.

At the same time, we support companies in their commitment to Corporate Citizenship by providing a tool that facilitates corporate donations and at the same time generates added value for the company.

The bottom line

CSR, Corporate Citizenship, Corporate Responsibility, or Corporate Governance after all? Whatever! We believe it's all about doing good. No matter what you call it, we want to help companies make CSR activities an integral part of their strategy and enable them to strengthen their commitment to society. The core of the matter (whether CSR or CC) is to act justly, sustainably and socially. And that's where WeShape can help.

Curious about how this works? Schedule a demo here.

Zurück zur Hauptseite

Corporate Social Responsibility und Corporate Citizenship

WeShape.world ist eine CSR-Engagement Plattform, die es Unternehmen ermöglicht, ihre Unternehmensspenden zu optimieren. Doch was steckt eigentlich hinter dem Begriff CSR und wie unterscheidet er sich von Corporate Citizenship?

Was ist CSR?

CSR steht kurz für Corporate Social Responsibility, also die gesellschaftliche Verantwortung von Unternehmen. Dabei geht es für Unternehmen darum, freiwillig Verantwortung für ihre Umwelt zu übernehmen. Das betrifft sowohl soziale und ökonomische Aspekte wie auch Umweltbelange (siehe auch CSR-in-Deutschland.de). Um die Abgrenzung zum Begriff Corporate Citizenship zu ziehen ist wichtig zu verstehen, dass es bei den CSR-Aktivitäten um Maßnahmen betreffend der tatsächlichen Geschäftstätigkeiten geht.

Ganz konkret heißt das, dass ein Unternehmen zum Beispiel fair mit Mitarbeiter:innen umgehen und soziale Aspekte beim Personalmanagement beachten sollte. Ebenso soll auch erfolgreich und weitsichtig gewirtschaftet werden und auf einen gerechten Umgang mit Geschäftspartnern wert gelegt werden. Die ökologische Säule bezieht sich auf einen schonenden Umgang mit benötigten Ressourcen und der Umsetzung einer nachhaltigerer Produktion bzw. eines nachhaltigeren Wirtschaftens.

Als Leitlinien für die CSR-Aktivitäten haben sich in den letzten Jahren die “Sustainable Development Goals” (SDGs) etabliert. Dies sind globale Nachhaltigkeitsziele der Vereinten Nationen, an denen ein Unternehmen die CSR-Aktivitäten ausrichten kann.

Was ist Corporate Citizenship?

Corporate Citizenship (CC) beschreibt das gesellschaftliche Engagement von Unternehmen, das über das eigene Geschäftsfeld hinausgeht. Das sind also Maßnahmen, die nicht zwingend etwas mit dem eigenen Wirtschaften zu tun haben. Wörtlich kann Corporate Citizenship auch beschrieben werden als das Handeln eines Unternehmens, als “guter Bürger”.

Beispiele für Corporate Citizenship sind Corporate Giving (Unternehmensspenden), Sponsoring und Corporate Volunteering (Freiwilligenarbeit während der Arbeitszeit).

CSR vs. Corporate Citizenship

Noch keine wirkliche Einigkeit besteht bei der scharfen Abgrenzung zwischen CSR und Corporate Citizenship (CC). Oftmals wird Letzteres als Teil einer CSR-Strategie gesehen, andere Definitionen hingegen ziehen eine klare Trennung zwischen CSR und CC, bei der CSR die eigenen Geschäftstätigkeiten optimiert und CC das freiwillige – oft finanzielle – Engagement von Unternehmen beschreibt, das über das Geschäftsfeld hinaus reicht. Wieder andere sehen den Begriff “Corporate Responsibility” (Unternehmerische Verantwortung) als Oberbegriff, der die Bereiche CSR, Corporate Citizenship und Corporate Governance abdeckt (mehr dazu hier).

WeShape und der CSR-Begriff

Schauen wir auf die oben erklärten Definitionen, so baut die WeShape-Plattform die Brücke zwischen CSR und Corporate Citizenship. Die CSR-Engagement Plattform fördert die Teilhabe von Mitarbeiter:innen, schafft mehr Sinnstiftung im Job sowie eine Grundlage für transparente Unternehmenskommunikation und optimiert interne Abläufe, zum Beispiel im Bereich des Spendenmanagements.

Gleichzeitig unterstützen wir Unternehmen in ihrem Engagement im Bereich Corporate Citizenship, indem wir ein Instrument an die Hand geben, das die Unternehmensspende erleichtert und gleichzeitig Mehrwert für das Unternehmen daraus generiert.

Das Fazit: Ein Plädoyer

CSR, Corporate Citizenship, Corporate Responsibility oder doch Corporate Governance? Was soll’s! Uns geht es darum, Gutes zu bewirken. Ganz egal, wie man es nennen mag: Wir möchten Unternehmen dabei unterstützen, CSR-Aktivitäten zu einem festen Teil ihrer Strategie zu machen und ihnen ermöglichen, ihr Engagement in der Gesellschaft zu festigen. Der Kern der Sache (ob nun CSR oder CC) ist es, gerecht, nachhaltig und sozial zu handeln. Und dabei kann WeShape unterstützen.