Skip to main content

Sharks are essential to a healthy ecosystem, and their disappearance would have far-reaching consequences. In this article, we look at the threats they face. Because the better we understand our environment, the more effectively we can protect it.

Sharks

Cartilaginous fish (Chondrichthyes) - i.e. sharks, rays and sea cats - are an evolutionary recipe for success. Over the last 400 million years, they have conquered almost every ecological niche in our oceans - from the darkest deep sea to the sun-drenched coastal areas [1]. Despite this evolutionary triumph, they are now increasingly threatened with extinction. This is mainly due to their common features, which are not limited to their cartilaginous skeleton. Rather, they all have slow growth, late sexual maturity and low reproductive rates in common [2]. Greenland sharks (Somniosus microcephalus) are a striking example with a life expectancy of more than 500 years. They only give birth to their first offspring after about 150 years [3]. Many of the large known shark species also produce only a few young per litter - and only every few years [4].

For millions of years, none of this was a problem. As apex hunters, sharks were never meant to occur in large numbers and population densities. But now their low reproductive potential is causing serious difficulties in the face of a new threat - humans. We are massively overexploiting our oceans with the consequence that more and more species on the IUCN Red List are moving closer to extinction. Some of our behaviours are well known to us from the media, other issues still elude the public eye.

Unregulated fishing

The targeted hunting of sharks can be divided into three categories, either for (i) shark meat, (ii) shark products or (iii) recreational fishing. SHARKPROJECT regularly provides information on the ecological consequences of the concept of "shark as a resource" in current and past campaigns. However, the issue of recreational fishing is largely rather unknown. This is not about sharks as a product, but as a prestige object.
Especially along the west coast of the USA and in the holiday regions of the Caribbean, the hobby is becoming more and more popular. In the 1970s, the starting signal was given by the sad cult classic "Jaws" [5]. Today, social media and the ongoing search for the perfect selfie drive the industry. The tournaments do not even stop at endangered species. Hammerheads (Scalloped Hammerhead Sphyrna lewini; Great Hammerhead Sphyrna mokarran), mako sharks (Isurus oxyrinchus), or thresher sharks (Bigeye thresher shark Alopias superciliosus; Common thresher shark Alopias vulpinus) are regularly on the catch lists. For all of these species, population numbers are in decline [6]. Every animal that dies senselessly as a trophy is another step towards extinction.

Unfortunately, the bigger the animal and the rarer the species, the better. For the participants in the competitions, it is about prestige, publicity and often large prize money. For the sharks, it's about the survival of their species. For it is the large animals that contribute most to the preservation of the species [7]. If these fertile and sexually mature animals are removed, the inevitable collapse of the local population often follows.

Join us & help SHARKPROJECT to prevent one of the main reasons for the declining population numbers of sharks. Ohne Dich Geht's Nicht - Your vote for an EU-wide ban on the trade in loose shark fins https://eci.ec.europa.eu/012/public/#/screen/home

Sources can be found here.


Great white shark Photo C. Gstöttner | Sharkproject Germany

Great white shark Photo C. Gstöttner


THIS IS WHAT YOUR DONATION CAN DO

350 credits cover the cost of essential campaign materials.

This will enable us to give 10 children a badge or pencil with a motif eraser from the school project.

Thanks for your support!

Zurück zur Hauptseite

Haie sind für ein gesundes Ökosystem unverzichtbar, ihr Verschwinden hätte weitreichende Folgen. In diesem Artikel schauen wir uns an, welchen Bedrohungen sie ausgesetzt sind. Denn je besser wir unsere Umwelt verstehen, desto effektiver können wir sie schützen.

Haie

Knorpelfische (Chondrichthyes) – also Haie, Rochen und Seekatzen – sind ein evolutionäres Erfolgsrezept. In den letzten 400 Millionen Jahren haben sie fast jede ökologische Nische unserer Ozeane für sich erobert – von der dunkelsten Tiefsee zu den sonnendurchfluteten Küstengebieten [1]. Trotz dieses evolutionären Siegeszuges sind sie nun zunehmend vom Aussterben bedroht. Das liegt vor allem an ihren Gemeinsamkeiten die sich nicht nur auf ihr Knorpelskelett beschränken. Vielmehr haben sie alle ein langsames Wachstum, späte Geschlechtsreife und niedrige Reproduktionsrate gemein [2]. Grönlandhaie (Somniosus microcephalus) sind mit einer Lebenserwartung von mehr als 500 Jahren ein plakatives Beispiel. Sie bringen erst nach circa 150 Jahren ihren ersten Nachwuchs zur Welt [3]. Viele der großen bekannten Hai-Arten produzieren außerdem nur wenige Jungtiere pro Wurf – und das auch nur alle paar Jahre [4].

Für Jahrmillionen war dies alles kein Problem. Als Spitzenjäger waren Haie nie dazu gedacht, in großer Anzahl und Populationsdichte vorzukommen. Doch nun bereitet ihr geringes Reproduktionspotential im Angesicht einer neuen Bedrohung – des Menschen – ernste Schwierigkeiten. Wir betreiben massiven Raubbau an unseren Meeren mit der Konsequenz, dass immer mehr Arten auf der Roten Liste der IUCN dem Aussterben näher rücken. Einige unserer Verhaltensweisen sind uns aus den Medien wohl bekannt, andere Themen entziehen sich noch dem Blick der Öffentlichkeit.

Unregulierte Fischerei

Die gezielte Jagd auf Haie lässt sich in drei Kategorien einteilen, entweder für (i) Hai-Fleisch, (ii) Hai-Produkte oder (iii) Sportfischerei. SHARKPROJECT informiert regelmäßig in laufenden und vergangenen Kampagnen über die ökologischen Konsequenzen des Konzepts „Hai als Ressource“. Die Problematik der Sportfischerei ist jedoch weitgehend eher unbekannt. Hier geht es nicht um Haie als Produkt, sondern als Prestige-Objekt.
Gerade entlang der Westküste der USA und in den Urlaubsregionen der Karibik findet das Hobby immer mehr Anklang. In den 1970er Jahren wurde der Startschuss durch den traurigen Kultklassiker „Der Weiße Hai“ gelegt [5]. Heute treiben die Sozialen Medien und die fortlaufende Suche nach dem perfekten Selfie die Industrie. Die Tourniere machen auch vor gefährdeten Arten nicht halt. Regelmäßig stehen Hammerhaie (Bogenstirn-Hammerhai Sphyrna lewini; Großer Hammerhai Sphyrna mokarran), Mako Haie (Isurus oxyrinchus), oder Fuchshaie (Großaugen-Fuchshai Alopias superciliosus; Gemeiner Fuchshai Alopias vulpinus) auf den Fanglisten. Bei allen von diesen Arten sind die Populationszahlen im Sinkflug [6]. Jedes Tier, das als Trophäe sinnlos stirbt ist ein weiterer Schritt in Richtung Aussterben.

Leider gilt je größer das Tier und je seltener die Art ist, desto besser. Für die Teilnehmer der Wettbewerbe geht es um Ansehen, Publicity und oftmals hohe Preisgelder. Für die Haie geht es um das Überleben ihrer Spezies. Denn es sind die großen Tiere, die am meisten zum Erhalt der Art beitragen [7]. Werden diese fruchtbaren und geschlechtsreifen Tiere entfernt folgt oftmals der unweigerliche Zusammenbruch der lokalen Population.

Sei dabei & hilf SHARKPROJECT, einen der Hauptgründe für die sinkenden Populationszahlen der Haie zu verhindern. Ohne Dich Geht’s Nicht – Deine Stimme für ein EU-weites Handelsverbot mit losen Hai-Flossen –>  https://eci.ec.europa.eu/012/public/#/screen/home

Quellenangaben findet ihr hier.


Grosser weisser Hai Foto C. Gstöttner | Sharkproject Germany

Grosser Weißer Hai, Foto C. Gstöttner


DAS KANN DEINE SPENDE BEWIRKEN

350 Credits finanzieren wichtiges Kampagnenmaterial.

Damit können wir 10 Kindern einen Ansteckbutton oder Bleistift mit Motivradierer aus dem Schulprojekt mitgeben.

Vielen Dank für deine Unterstützung!