Skip to main content

Support the EU citizens' initiative "Stop Finning - Stop the Trade" for an EU-wide trade ban on loose shark fins.

*****************

Millions and millions of sharks die every year. Their population numbers have been in decline for decades - with far-reaching consequences. A good ¼ of all species are classified as endangered on the IUCN Red List, and many are already extinct.

There are many reasons for this. Starting with the by-catch problem, environmental pollution or the increasingly obvious effects of climate change. The main reason, however, still lies in targeted fishing. Here, it is not the entire animal that is on the catch list, but primarily the valuable fins. To save space on the ships, the fins are cut off and the mutilated, often still living sharks are thrown back into the sea.

The fins are then traded on from their fishing grounds, mainly to be marketed as a delicacy in shark fin soup or as a panacea in traditional Chinese medicine.

Europe is also involved in this trade, whether by catching and processing sharks itself or as a central transshipment point for fins from around the world.

Voluntary measures to restrict fishing are not to be expected. On the contrary, demand for the coveted fins is increasing. And where there is demand, there is profit.

The only viable option lies in appropriate legislation.

The first steps in this direction have already been taken in the EU since 2013. The "Fins Naturally Attached" regulation prohibits the storage, transhipment and landing of any loose shark fins on EU vessels. This should ban the cruel practice of shark finning and achieve a general decrease in European shark fishing.

The reality, however, is different. Although there was a brief decline in catches, the targeted marketing of shark meat quickly brought them back to their original levels. As soon as the animals are landed, they can still legally have their fins removed. And as long as this and the trade in loose fins is allowed, Europe will continue to be one of the main transshipment centres.

There is also the problem of illegal trade in CITES species in Europe. Without genetic analyses, it is almost impossible to determine which shark species the detached fins come from. As soon as the entire animal has to be transported, this difficulty disappears.

This is exactly where the EU citizens' initiative "Stop Finning - Stop the Trade" comes in.

The aim is to extend the "Fins Naturally Attached" regulation and thus ban the complete import, transit & export of loose fins.
With the achievement of the necessary 1 million signatures from at least 7 EU countries, the European Commission is obliged to negotiate a corresponding amendment to the law. If the extension is approved, the trade in fins will suddenly become unprofitable. A drastic decline in European and worldwide shark fishing is to be expected as a result. After all, who would want to transport a 500 kg shark across Europe just for two pairs of fins!

All eligible EU citizens can vote directly here until 31.1.2022: https://eci.ec.europa.eu/012/public/


Stop Finning – Stop the Trade | Sharkproject Germany

Zurück zur Hauptseite

Unterstützung der EU-Bürgerinitiative „Stop Finning – Stop the Trade“ für ein EU-weites Handelsverbot mit losen Hai-Flossen.

*****************

Jedes Jahr sterben Abermillionen Haie. Ihre Populationszahlen sind seit Jahrzehnten im Sinkflug – mit weitreichenden Konsequenzen. Gut ¼ aller Arten sind auf der IUCN Roten Liste als gefährdet eingestuft, viele sind bereits ausgestorben.

Gründe dafür sind vielfältig. Angefangen mit der Beifang-Problematik, Umweltverschmutzung oder den immer deutlicher werdenden Auswirkungen des Klimawandels. Der Hauptgrund liegt jedoch nach wie vor in der gezielten Fischerei. Dabei steht nicht das gesamte Tier auf dem Fangzettel, sondern vorrangig die wertvollen Flossen. Um Platz auf den Schiffen zu sparen, werden die Flossen abgeschnitten und die verstümmelten, oft noch lebenden Haie zurück ins Meer geworfen.

Die Flossen werden dann von ihren Fangstätten weiter gehandelt, hauptsächlich um als Delikatesse in Haiflossen Suppe oder als Allheilmittel der Traditionellen Chinesischen Medizin vermarktet zu werden.

Auch Europa ist an diesem Handel beteiligt, sei es durch Fangen und Weiterverarbeiten von Haien selbst oder als zentraler Umschlagsplatz für Flossen aus der gesamten Welt.

Freiwillige Maßnahmen zur Einschränkung der Fischerei sind nicht zu erwarten. Ganz im Gegenteil, die Nachfrage nach den begehrten Flossen steigt. Und wo Nachfrage da Profit.

Die einzige praktikable Möglichkeit liegt in einer entsprechenden Gesetzgebung.

Erste Schritte in diese Richtung gibt es in der EU bereits seit 2013. Durch die „Fins Naturally Attached“-Verordnung ist das Aufbewahren, Umladen und Anlanden jeglicher losen Haiflossen auf EU-Schiffen untersagt. Hierdurch sollte die grausame Praxis des Shark Finnings verboten und ein genereller Rückgang des europäischen Hai-Fangs erreicht werden.

Die Realität sieht jedoch anders aus. Zwar kam es kurzzeitig zu einem Rückgang der Fangzahlen, doch durch gezielte Vermarktung von Haifleisch stiegen diese jedoch schnell wieder auf ihr ursprüngliches Level an. Sobald die Tiere angelandet werden, dürfen ihnen weiterhin legal die Flossen entfernt werden. Und solange dies und der Handel mit den losen Flossen erlaubt ist, wird Europa weiterhin einer der Hauptumschlagsplätze bleiben.

Dazu kommt die Problematik des illegalen Handels mit CITES-Arten in Europa. Ohne genetische Analysen ist es fast unmöglich zu bestimmen von welcher Hai-Art die abgetrennten Flossen kommen. Sobald das gesamte Tier transportiert werden muss, fällt diese Schwierigkeit weg.

Die EU-Bürgerinitiative „Stop Finning – Stop the Trade” setzt genau hier an.

Ziel ist es, die „Fins Naturally Attached“-Verordnung zu erweitern und so den kompletten Import, Transit & Export loser Flossen zu verbieten.
Mit dem Erreichen der notwendigen 1 Million Unterschriften von mindestens 7 EU-Staaten ist die Europäische Kommission verpflichtet über eine entsprechende Gesetzesanpassung zu verhandeln. Sollte der Erweiterung zugestimmt werden, wird der Handel mit Flossen schlagartig unlukrativ. Ein drastischer Rückgang des europa- & weltweiten Hai-Fangs ist dadurch zu erwarten. Denn wer will schon einen 500 kg schweren Hai nur wegen zwei Paar Flossen quer durch Europa transportieren?!

Alle wahlberechtigten EU-Bürger stimmen bis 31.1.2022 direkt hier ab: https://eci.ec.europa.eu/012/public/


Stop Finning – Stop the Trade | Sharkproject Germany