Skip to main content

Paraguay makes headlines in Germany for its drug trade and barbecue charcoal. But few know about the sad remnant of forests that have an unprotected conservation status in Paraguay: They are cut down for marijuana and burnt to make barbecue charcoal. The impact on their own and the world's climate is devastating. 

In several episodes we report on these connections between deforestation and its consequences in Paraguay.


Part 1: The context

The Atlantic Rainforest (the Mata Atlântica) is a tropical forest area on the east coast of South America. It also extends into the interior of the continent to the east of Paraguay. The Mata Atlântica is one of the most threatened tropical forests. Due to deforestation, the area was already extremely reduced in the 20th century. The biodiversity is still one of the highest in the world today, although only disjointed remnants exist, most of which have been declared protected areas.

Ban on clearing as a rescue?

In 1992, during the United Nations Conference on the Environment in Rio de Janeiro, the then Paraguayan President General Andrés Rodríguez presented a project to protect forests by creating public and private reserves. This initiative led to the adoption of Section 354 in 1994, which created the national system of protected forest areas in Paraguay. Since 2004, Paraguay has had a ban on forest clearing in the eastern part of the country.

The reality

It seemed that with these laws the country would sufficiently protect its forests. The reality, however, is illegal deforestation and a fire catastrophe caused by the extreme drought in 2020: at the time the protected area was established in 1994, the eastern part of Paraguay still had a forest area of 4,300,000 hectares, according to a report by the forestry service of the National University of Asunción (UNA). The latest data from INFONA (Instituto Forestal Nacional) show that even before the devastating drought there were only 2,700,000 hectares left. According to Rodrigo Zárate, director of Guyrá Paraguay (an organisation that carries out conservation and research projects in the Atlantic Rainforest), trees are still being felled to sell sawn timber and charcoal is made from the remains. After that, marijuana in particular is planted, today in open areas, while in the past the tall trees were still left standing as protection against detection during overflights.

In the next part, we will report in detail on illegal logging.


Why Pro Cosara needs your support

PRO COSARA conducts patrols with government bodies to control slash-and-burn and illegal logging. We urgently need your help in controlling these illegal activities and in reforestation after the devastating fire. Check out our profile page to learn more about our work.

View from the surveillance aircraft: Many fires and clearings can only be detected and localised from the air.

View from the surveillance aircraft: Many fires and clearings can only be detected and localised from the air.

Zurück zur Hauptseite

Paraguay macht in Deutschland Schlagzeilen beim Drogenhandel und mit seiner Grillkohle. Aber nur wenige kennen den traurigen Rest an Wäldern, die in Paraguay einen ungeschützten Schutzstatus haben: Sie werden für Marihuana abgeholzt und zu Grillkohle verbrannt. Der Einfluss auf das eigene und weltweite Klima ist verheerend. 

In mehreren Folgen berichten wir über diese Zusammenhänge zwischen Entwaldung und seinen Konsequenzen in Paraguay.


Teil 1: Die Hintergründe

Der Atlantische Regenwald (die Mata Atlântica) ist ein tropisches Waldgebiet an der Ostküste von Südamerika. Es erstreckt sich auch ins Innere des Kontinents bis in den Osten von Paraguay. Die Mata Atlântica ist einer der am stärksten bedrohten tropischen Wälder. Durch Abholzung wurde die Fläche bereits im 20. Jahrhundert extrem reduziert. Die Biodiversität ist auch heute noch eine der höchsten der Welt, obwohl nur noch unzusammenhängende Reste existieren, die meist als Schutzgebiete deklariert wurden.

Rodungsverbot als Rettung?

1992 stellte der damalige paraguayische Präsident General Andrés Rodríguez während der Umweltkonferenz der Vereinten Nationen in Rio de Janeiro ein Projekt zum Schutz der Wälder durch die Schaffung öffentlicher und privater Reservate vor. Diese Initiative führte 1994 zur Verabschiedung des Paragraphen 354, mit dem das nationale System geschützter Waldgebiete in Paraguay geschaffen wurde. Seit 2004 besteht in Paraguay ein Rodungsverbot für den östlichen Landesteil.

Die Realität

Es schien, als würde mit diesen Gesetzen das Land seine Wälder ausreichend schützen. Die Realität aber heißt illegale Entwaldung und eine Brandkatastrophe durch die extreme Dürre im Jahr 2020: Zum Zeitpunkt der Errichtung des Schutzgebiets 1994 verfügte der Osten von Paraguay nach einem Bericht des Forstdienstes der Nationalen Universität von Asunción (UNA) noch über eine Waldfläche von 4.300.000 Hektar. Die aktuellen Daten von INFONA (Instituto Forestal Nacional) zeigen, dass es selbst vor der verheerenden Dürrekatastrophe nur noch 2.700.000 Hektar gab. Nach Rodrigo Zárate, Direktor von Guyrá Paraguay (einer Organisation, die Naturschutz- und Forschungsprojekte im Atlantischen Regenwald durchführt) werden immer noch Bäume gefällt, um Schnittholz zu verkaufen, und aus den Überresten wird Holzkohle hergestellt. Danach wird insbesondere Marihuana angepflanzt, heute auf offenen Flächen, während früher noch die hohen Bäume als Schutz vor einer Entdeckung bei Überflügen stehen blieben.

Im nächsten Teil werden wir im Detail zur illegalen Abholzung berichten.


Warum Pro Cosara deine Unterstützung braucht

PRO COSARA führt Patrouillen mit staatlichen Organen durch, um Brandrodung und illegalen Holzeinschlag zu kontrollieren. Wir benötigen dringend Eure Hilfe bei der Kontrolle dieser illegalen Machenschaften und bei der Aufforstung nach der verheerenden Brandkatastrophe. Schaut auf unsere Profilseite, um mehr zu unserer Arbeit zu erfahren.

Blick aus dem Überwachungsflugzeug: Viele Brände und Rodungen können nur aus der Luft erkannt und lokalisiert werden.

Blick aus dem Überwachungsflugzeug: Viele Brände und Rodungen können nur aus der Luft erkannt und lokalisiert werden.