Skip to main content

An interview with Beate

When Columbus came to the Americas, the Atlantic coast was forested deep into the heartland. Today, however, the Mata Atlântica is one of the most threatened tropical forests, with over 90% deforested.
PRO COSARA protects the Cordillera San Rafael, the last major remnant of intra-Atlantic rainforest in Paraguay. We appreciate the opportunity to speak with Beate Pesch, who introduces us to the organization.


Beate Pesch | Pro Cosara e.V.

Dear Beate, please introduce your organization to our readers in a few sentences.

International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) - was one of the first conservation groups in Paraguay to receive government support. This was our seed money, for example, for park rangers and environmental education work. In 1992, San Rafael was officially placed under protection. However, there is a lack of funds to buy land from private owners to create a national park. Patrols to control the increasing illegal activities such as slash and burn or logging are becoming more and more important. You can read more about this in our last annual report .

The NGO is not only concerned with the preservation of the rainforest, but also with research projects. The book "Field Guide to the Birds of San Rafael" was published in 2017 with support from the Tropical Forest Conservation Fund and government agencies. All proceeds go to PRO COSARA. Currently, our relatives, the monkey families living in San Rafael, are being studied.

How did the idea of your project come about, how did it develop?

Since 1998, I have traveled to Paraguay every year - with the exception of 2020, when I only got as far as Brazil because of Corona. At some point, I came across PRO COSARA on the internet and then set off with friends on a search along dirt roads with red earth. I was impressed by how the founders of PRO COSARA, Christine and Hans, went from being farmers to conservationists and with what commitment they protect this last remnant of rainforest. A long lasting friendship developed with the promise that I will take over the German association PRO COSARA e.V. as soon as my time allows.

What drives you every day, what are you passionate about?

Unfortunately, it burned severely in the strictest sense of the word: On Oct. 1, 2020, a national state of emergency was declared due to an extreme drought. In San Rafael, 30,000 of 73,000 acres have burned. Reforestation is now a high priority. Not only this climate disaster, but also illegal deforestation is a major problem. We need regular and close monitoring of San Rafael. By the way, Paraguay is the second largest supplier of charcoal for the German barbecue after Poland.

Every tree counts in the race against illegal conversion as agricultural land for soy, marijuana or beans in the Cordillera San Rafael!

Pro Cosara

If you had to name in 3 to 4 key words, in which areas you change the world for the better, what would these three words be?

  • Climate
  • Protection of species
  • Natural habitat

Is there anything else you would like to share with our readers?

In San Rafael for a donation of 1,000 € we can plant as many trees. With 100 € we can take off for a control flight. Your donations save our last rainforest, the animals living in it and bind a part of the greenhouse gases that humans release worldwide. In return, you will receive oxygen to breathe and support us all in improving the global climate through sustainable conservation.

Pro Cosara

Thank you for these exciting insights. We are happy that we can support you together with the staff! If you want to know more, you can find detailed information here on the website of Pro Cosara.

Zurück zur Hauptseite

Beate Pesch im Interview

Als Kolumbus nach Amerika kam, war die Atlantikküste bis tief ins Innenland bewaldet. Die Mata Atlântica ist jedoch heute einer der am stärksten bedrohten tropischen Wälder, über 90% wurden abgeholzt.
PRO COSARA schützt die Cordillera San Rafael, den letzten größeren Rest inneratlantischen Regenwalds in Paraguay. Wir freuen uns über die Gelegenheit, mit Beate Pesch zu sprechen, der uns die Organisation vorstellt.


Beate Pesch | Pro Cosara e.V.

Liebe Beate, stelle unseren Leser:innen eure Organisation doch in ein paar wenige Sätzen vor.

International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) – war eine der ersten Umweltschutzgruppen in Paraguay, die eine staatliche Unterstützung erhalten hat. Das war unser Startkapital, zum Beispiel für Parkwächter und Umwelterziehungsarbeit. 1992 wurde San Rafael offiziell unter Schutz gestellt. Es fehlen jedoch die Mittel, um den Privateigentümern Land abzukaufen und so einen Nationalpark zu schaffen. Immer wichtiger werden Patrouillen zur Kontrolle der zunehmenden illegalen Aktivitäten wie Brandrodung oder Holzeinschlag. Mehr dazu könnt ihr in unserem letzten Jahresbericht lesen.

Die NGO kümmert sich nicht nur um den Erhalt des Regenwaldes, sondern auch um Forschungsprojekte. Das Buch „Field Guide to the Birds of San Rafael“ wurde 2017 mit Unterstützung des Tropical Forest Conservation Fund und staatlichen Stellen herausgebracht. Alle Einnahmen gehen an PRO COSARA. Zurzeit werden unsere Verwandten, die in San Rafael lebenden Affenfamilien, untersucht.

Wie kam es denn zu der Idee eures Projekts, wie ist es entstanden?

Seit 1998 bin ich jedes Jahr nach Paraguay gereist – mit Ausnahme von 2020, da kam ich wegen Corona nur bis Brasilien. Irgendwann bin ich im Internet auf PRO COSARA gestoßen und habe mich dann mit Freunden über Feldwege mit roter Erde auf die Suche gemacht. Mich hat beeindruckt, wie die Gründer von PRO COSARA, Christine und Hans, vom Farmer zum Naturschützer wurden und mit welchem Engagement sie diesen letzten Rest Regenwald schützen. Es entwickelte sich eine langjährige Freundschaft mit dem Versprechen, dass ich den deutschen Verein PRO COSARA e.V. übernehme, sobald es meine Zeit erlaubt.

Was treibt euch denn täglich an, wofür brennt ihr

Es hat leider im engsten Sinn des Wortes schwer gebrannt: Am 1.10.2020 wurde aufgrund einer extremen Dürre der nationale Notstand ausgerufen. In San Rafael sind 30.000 von 73.000 Hektar verbrannt. Aufforstung hat jetzt hohe Priorität. Nicht nur diese Klimakatastrophe, sondern die auch die illegale Entwaldung sind ein großes Problem. Wir brauchen eine regelmäßige und engmaschige Überwachung von San Rafael. Paraguay ist übrigens nach Polen der zweitgrößte Lieferant von Holzkohle für den deutschen Grill.

Jeder Baum zählt im Wettlauf mit der illegalen Umnutzung als landwirtschaftliche Fläche für Soja, Marihuana oder Bohnen in der Cordillera San Rafael!

Pro Cosara

Wenn du in 3 Stichworten nennen müsstest, in welchen Bereichen ihr die Welt zum Besseren verändert, was wären diese drei Worte?

  • Klima
  • Artenschutz
  • Natürlicher Lebensraum

Möchtest du unseren Leser:innen noch etwas mitgeben?

In San Rafael können wir für eine Spende von 1.000 € ebenso viele Bäume pflanzen. Mit 100 € können wir für einen Kontrollflug durchstarten. Eure Spenden retten unseren letzten Regenwald, die darin lebenden Tiere und binden einen Teil der Treibhausgase, die die Menschen weltweit freisetzen. Dafür erhaltet Ihr Sauerstoff zum Durchatmen und unterstützt uns alle, das weltweite Klima durch nachhaltigen Naturschutz zu verbessern.

Pro Cosara

Vielen Dank für diese spannenden Einblicke. Wir freuen uns, dass wir euch gemeinsam mit den Mitarbeiter:innen unterstützen können! Wer noch mehr wissen möchte findet detaillierte Informationen hier auf der Website von Pro Cosara.