Skip to main content

The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change is sounding the alarm: climate targets have been missed. Therefore, it is important to protect the last larger contiguous remnant of rainforest in Paraguay.

The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change has published the first two parts of its 6th reporting cycle. Without drastic measures, global warming is increasing more than expected. As early as 2030, 1.5 degrees could be reached. Rainforests have a significant influence on the climate for the binding of CO2 and for the water balance.

To secure the climate targets, an immediate stop to deforestation - not just from 2030, as agreed in Glasgow - is necessary alongside a switch to emission-free energy production. In Paraguay, by the way, energy is generated from hydropower. San Rafael has been suffering from persistent drought since 2020 with high temperatures and fires that have destroyed 40% of the tree cover in our San Rafael Nature Reserve. Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

Forest fires contribute to the deterioration of the carbon footprint to a devastating extent. On the one hand, they destroy the biomass that binds CO2, and on the other, they release CO2 themselves. But there is hope: we are now finding trees that will grow again and planting additional seedlings with your donations. And we are committed - also with your donations - to fire protection and especially to our "forest fire departments". Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

Zurück zur Hauptseite

Der Weltklimarat schlägt Alarm: die Klimaziele wurden verfehlt. Daher ist es wichtig, den letzten größeren zusammenhängenden Rest Regenwald in Paraguay zu schützen.

Der Weltklimarat hat die ersten beiden Teile seines 6. Berichtszyklus veröffentlicht. Ohne einschneidende Maßnahmen steigt die Erderwärmung stärker an als erwartet. Bereits 2030 könnten 1,5 Grad erreicht werden. Einen wesentlichen Einfluss auf das Klima haben die Regenwälder zur Bindung von CO2 und für den Wasserhaushalt.

Zur Sicherung der Klimaziele ist ein sofortiger Stopp der Entwaldung – nicht erst ab 2030, wie in Glasgow verabredet – notwendig neben der Umstellung auf emissionsfreie Energiegewinnung. In Paraguay wird übrigens die Energie aus Wasserkraft gewonnen. San Rafael leidet seit 2020 unter anhaltender Trockenheit mit hohen Temperaturen und Bränden, die 40% des Baumbestands in unserem Naturschutzgebiet San Rafael zerstört haben.

Waldbrände tragen in verheerendem Ausmaß zur Verschlechterung der CO2-Bilanz bei. Sie zerstören einerseits die Biomasse, die CO2 bindet, und setzen andererseits selbst CO2 frei. Aber es gibt Hoffnung: wir finden jetzt nachwachsende Bäumchen und pflanzen zusätzlich Setzlinge mit Euren Spenden.  Und wir engagieren uns – auch mit Euren Spenden- für den Brandschutz und insbesondere für unsere „Waldfeuerwehren“.